Meatless Monday Adventure Part 1: Mushroom and Chick Pea Bolognese

As part of a general change of my life course I have decided to decrease meat products in my diet and increase plant products.  Right now I am not a vegetarian or vegan or pescetarian.  At least I am not those yet.  I have always been interested in nutrition have spent a lot of my time over the years reading the relevant articles (peer reviewed from legit journals) on the subject.  The data is fairly clear that the American diet is too meat heavy, which leads to a lack in vitamins, minerals, and fiber.  Fiber being an often overlooked item partially because it leads to “embarrassing” conversations.  My doctors have said similar things, more veg, less meat, less sugar.  Also, I love fresh vegetables and vegetarians have better recipes.  Definitely tired of suggestions like steamed vegetables.  Roasted is good, but there has to be so much more.  With all that said, lets look at our first try.

Mushroom and Chick Pea Bolognese:

I love mushrooms and chick peas, so why not put them together.  It was a simple enough recipe.  Saute minced mushrooms and onions until much of the moisture is gone and starts to brown.  Add tomato paste, sauce, carrots, and vegetable stock then boil.  Once all of that was cooked and simmering to good thickness add minced chick peas.  The mincing was done with my trusty food processor.  It is the best way to get tiny, consistent pieces.  This created a thick sauce that looked a lot like a Bolognese with beef.  I served it with spaghetti and loved it.  The sauce was delicious and had a great texture.  You know how some things are good and some things are good for being vegetarian?  This was just good.  The recipe made tons of sauce, so we had lots of lunches for the week ahead.  This allowed me to have a vegetable filled lunch ready for every day of the rest of the week.  I love being able to prep my lunches for the whole week.

So this was a great start to the new adventure.  Chick peas are versatile and will feature heavily in dinners to come.

 

About Elemmire Anini

I'm a scientist working on my Ph.D. In the meantime, I like to write, garden, cook, and explore the world around me. Join me on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Meatless Monday Adventure Part 1: Mushroom and Chick Pea Bolognese

  1. Omar says:

    That does not sound delicious

Leave a comment