It’s been an interesting time

So, there has been some time since my last post.  So much time.  Let’t not count though…

Last year, in May, I successfully defended my thesis.  It was such a strange day.  It rained most of the day and the roof of the building leaked.  The projector for the auditorium was being rained on.  The hallway was flooding.  And yet the show went on.  Dr. Rebecca introduced me and it was beautiful.  She talked about my hard work through the several difficult situations I had to deal with during my time there.  I was so tired by the end of it (I talked for about an hour) that I think I sounded a bit mean or a bit flippant by the end. After the ceremonyMy committee told me I only answered one question wrong, which is fine cause I really didn’t know the answer.  Saying I don’t know isn’t the way to go in this situation, so we muddle through the answer until we find some kind of end.  That same night my major professor had a party for everyone who defended that semester, there were several.  By October I had all the rest of my corrections made in my thesis.  All forms signed and approved.  All bills were paid and I was ready to graduate.  So in December I walked 636191574247392511across the stage to receive my Masters of Science in Aquaculture.  I was honestly surprised how happy I was to be there.  My father came to visit for the occasion, along with Uncle Bennie and Aunt Jo.  Despite all the celebration I did have to go to work and check on my fish.  I was in the middle of a disease challenge and there wasn’t a way to avoid going in.

After graduation was the anniversary of my mother’s death.  It was difficult for all of us knowing how happy she would have been to see my finally finish my degree.  It totally sucks to hit the milestones without her.

Then it was my birthday.  I turned 30.  I feel like a lot of people freak out at 30.  Like they should have done more by now.  Or they feel suddenly old. I felt like I was probably in the right place at the right time.  Finally having my degree.  Having my own house.  Having two puppies, a kitten chose me to live with, and with no immediate plans to have kids.  For the first time in a long time I felt comfortable with my life.

15844337_10100204469464074_4427264093109021933_oAnd about a week later Scott asked me to marry him.  He asked on the Winter Solstice at Hibernia park in Pennsylvania.  We were spending Christmas break traveling to PA and back.  He timed it so we were be there for that day.  Grandma was so excited.  She loves Scott.  We spent a lot of time visiting with family and friends, even driving out to Pittsburgh.  Did I mention we brought the dogs?  Yeah, the love car rides.  They don’t even like to get out of the car for breaks.  They get mad if the have to get out of their comfort positions.  Except when we drove through Kentucky.  We stopped at a state park for a long walk.  They were not accustomed to hills, so it was great for them.

Things have been pretty good since then.  With the exception of the veggie garden, but that is for a later post.  I am planning the wedding, trying not to stress.  But that is also for a later post.

About Elemmire Anini

I'm a scientist working on my Ph.D. In the meantime, I like to write, garden, cook, and explore the world around me. Join me on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Dealing with Life, Masters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment